The New Basement Tapes Supergroup Release 'Lost on the River' with Commentary Provided by T Bone Burnett on Spotify

By Ian Holubiak on Nov 14, 2014 12:29 AM EST

From Harvest records and sparing no expense at Dylan, The New Basement Tapes--comprised of Jim James, Rhiannon Giddens, Taylor Goldsmith, Elvis Costello and Marcus Mumford--release their first LP under the redundant moniker: Lost on the River.

Basement tapes are everywhere and how to discern which one your listening to might be hard.

Alas, though, there is a difference between Bob Dylan's most recent addition to the bootleg series, The Basement Tapes Complete, and the eerily reminiscent cover group. The first detail lies in its producer.

Burnett's direction, ambitions and concessions as he strung together to ensemble and the latest release come as no surprise a la his earlier collaborations O Brother, Where Art Thou and Betty Buckley's Ghostlight. And lucily for us, Spotify has some commentary from the man himself up for listen.

Make your way here and check out the supergroup arranging "Kansas City" with a familiar name on rhythm guitar (hint: Pirates of the Caribbean).

© 2016 The Classical Art, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

TagsBob Dylan, The Basement Tapes Complete, The New Basement Tapes, Elvis Costello, Jim James, Rhiannon Giddens, Taylor Goldsmith, Marcus Mumford, Kansas City, Betty Buckley

Real Time Analytics