News, Commentary on Classical Music, Jazz, Theater, Dance & More

Better Than Nixon, But No Truman: Condoleezza Rice Plays Schumann Piano Concerto in Omaha

Get the Most Popular Classicalite Stories in a Weekly Newsletter

May 14, 2013 02:13 PM EDT | Logan K. Young (

On Friday evening, under the baton of Thomas Wilkins and the Omaha Symphony, former U.S. Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice performed the first movement (and just the first-movement-only) of the much loved Piano Concerto in A Minor.

No, not Edvard Grieg's Opus 16, but the slightly easier ivory of Robert Schumann's Op. 54 (again, "Allegro affettuoso," only).

Neither audio nor video has yet to surface online, so instead, Classicalite figured it would point you the way of the Omaha World-Herald's correspondent Todd von Kampen.

"She did well," reads von Kampen's sort of non-committal review of Condi Rice at the Holland Center.

Having studied piano both at Aspen and the University of Denver, surely, Rice's technique wasn't nearly this crooked.

Of course, not every political pianist can be as practiced as Harry S. Truman's Debussy.

Much less Robert C. Byrd's wild, wonderful and historically informed violin.

Which is to say nothing of the present administration's love for the classics.

Then again, not every muso-political argument need be partisan. Just ask the songwriting senator from the great state of Utah, Mr. Orrin Grant Hatch.

Unless you're Lee Atwater, that is.

Get the Most Popular Classicalite Stories in a Weekly Newsletter

© 2015 Classicalite All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

More News

Related Articles

Philadelphia Orchestra, No Longer Bankrupt, Will Tour China Again

Trending Stories

Stay Connected

Most Popular


More Events »

Real Time Analytics