New Jersey Symphony Orchestra Announces 2016-17 Season

By Shane Jordan on Feb 20, 2016 01:06 AM EST

New Music Director of the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra (NJSO) Xian Zhang is happy to announce the orchestra's programs for the 2016-17 concert season, her first since taking the job. Highlights from NJSO's upcoming season will include Zhang's first concerts as Music Director, featuring a trio of Tchaikovsky scores: Symphony No. 5, Piano Concerto No. 1 and Polonaise from Eugene Onegin.

The NJSO celebrates the new music director's arrival at a gala event at NJPAC in Newark on November 5, when Zhang conducts a program featuring Beethoven's Triple Concerto, Haydn's Symphony No. 102 and Adagio from Piano Trio No. 40 and Strauss' Suite from Der Rosenkavalier.

Despite it being her first seasons with the orchestra, Zhang hardly sounded intimidated when discussing the upcoming concerts:

"The 2016-17 season -- my first as music director of the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra -- is colorful and exciting, and I take great pride in it.

"The season features a lot of big orchestral works and powerful soloists.

"I think each program has to stand very strongly by itself; each piece of a concert must be strong, interesting and attractive to the audience."

That of course comes as no surprise to The Bergen Record who recently wrote about Zhang impressive past work history that brought her to the NJSO's attention in the first place:

"When Xian Zhang, newly appointed conductor of the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra, takes up the baton for her four-year term in September, she will bring a résumé matched by few in her field.

"And a back story matched by no one."

The season features works that will be new to NJSO audiences. The Orchestra performs for the first time Tan Dun's Internet Symphony No. 1, Eroica; Lilburn's Aotearoa Overture; Piazzolla's The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires and Vaughan Williams' Tuba Concerto.

Other highlights include Grieg's Piano Concerto, Tchaikovsky's Serenade for Strings, Mendelssohn's Italian Symphony, Elgar's Enigma Variations, Handel's Messiah; Beethoven's Third and Seventh Symphonies and Violin Concerto and Schubert's Ninth Symphony, Great.

Subscriptions are now on sale for the 2016-17 season.

Full information on ticket packages for each series and venue is available at NJSO's official website; subscriptions are available for purchase
online or by phone at (800) ALLEGRO [255-3476].

Single tickets will go on sale in August.

© 2016 The Classical Art, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

TagsNew Jersey Symphony Orchestra, 2016-17 Season, Xian Zhang, music director

Real Time Analytics