LIVESTREAM: 2014 National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Masters Ceremony and Concert, Featuring Jarrett, Braxton, Davis and Aebersold

By Louise Burton on Jan 04, 2014 02:23 PM EST

This year's NEA Jazz Masters--pianist Keith Jarrett, composer Anthony Braxton, bassist Richard Davis and educator Jamey Aebersold--will be honored at the annual NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony and Concert on Monday, January 13.

For the fourth consecutive year, viewers can watch a live webcast of the event at or on January 13 at 7:30 p.m. EST.

The webcast is presented by the National Endowment for the Arts and Jazz at Lincoln Center (JALC).

JALC artistic director Wynton Marsalis (with the help of journalist Soledad O'Brien) will host the event at Lincoln Center in New York City.

Jazz Masters from previous years have been invited to perform, including Kenny Barron, Jimmy Heath, Dave Liebman and Jimmy Owens. This year's honoree, Jamey Aebersold, will also perform alongside with recent winners of the Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition.

"The NEA Jazz Masters award ceremony and concert is an occasion for celebrating American jazz legends on an international stage," noted Wayne S. Brown, NEA director of music and opera.

"We are thrilled to be able to share this moment with a worldwide audience, to enjoy the music and recognize some of the leading artists who have helped to advance this unique American art form."

The Jazz Master award is the nation's highest award in jazz. Jazz Masters are recognized for their lifetime achievements and exceptional contributions to the advancement of the art form.

This year, all recepients will receive a one-time fellowship award of $25,000.

About the Author

© 2016 The Classical Art, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

TagsNEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony and Concert, National Endowment for the Arts, NEA, Keith Jarrett, Anthony Braxton, Richard Davis, Jamey Aebersold, Wynton Marsalis, Soledad O'Brien

Real Time Analytics