Guggenheim Social: The John Simon Memorial Foundation Names 2014 Awardees in Music Composition and Research

By Ian Holubiak on Apr 15, 2014 08:26 PM EDT

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has awarded 177 fellowships to a group of 178 scholars, artists and scientists, per NewMusicBox.

In its 90th annual competition for the U.S. and Canada, and appointed on the basis of achievement and potential, the successful candidates were chosen out of a pool of 3,000 applicants.

As the Guggenheim release states, the awardees in the area of music composition are as follows:

Jamie Baum
Gene Coleman
Steve Coleman
Jesse Jones
Arthur Kampela
Mikel Kuehn
Eric Nathan
Elena Ruehr
Elliott Sharp
Stephen Taylor
Wang Lu

And in the area of music research:

Will Crutchfield

Since its inception in 1925, the foundation has awarded more than $315 million to approximately 17,700 individuals. This includes Nobel laureates and Pulitzer Prize-winners.

For more information on this year's class, make your way here.

© 2016 The Classical Art, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

TagsJohn Simon Guggenheim Foundation, New Music Box

Real Time Analytics