Guitar Virtuoso Roberto Moronn Pérez Releasing Tracks from French Composers via Andres Segovia Archive

By Ian Holubiak on Jun 09, 2014 02:32 PM EDT

Roberto Moronn Perez has released his latest performance of works from the "Andres Segovia Archive." A Spanish composer aside, Perez takes us to France and premieres some unrecorded works.

"The Segovia Archive Series" was published by Edizione Musicale Berben and, until recently, had some pieces that had never been recorded, and those that were handicapped by poor visibility in the marketplace and limited distribution.

It was this that granted Perez his crusade. A realization which presented the opportunity for Perez to break into the Archive and record these pieces for a larger, listening audience.

Composers from the Archive Include Raymond Petit, 
Henri Martelli, 
Pierre De Breville, 
Henri Collet, 
Raymond Moulaert
, Raoul Laparra, 
Pierre-Octave Ferroud
 and Ida Presti.

If you don't know Perez, he is a Spanish-born guitarist who studied in Madrid, Italy and the U.K., graduating with first-class honours and a degree in Musicology from the Universidad Complutense de Madrid.

Afterwards, he completed a postgraduate program at the prestigious Royal Academy of Music in London, where he received the Julian Bream Prize.

Also, he was selected to participate at the Wigmore Hall Award.

So with thanks to Holy Trinity Church in Hertfordshire, U.K. for providing acoustics, and John Taylor for his outstanding production and engineering of the record (mastered by GRAMMY-winning engineer Keith O. Johnson), pick up a copy of Perez's latest recordings on June 10.

Until then, sink your teeth into some sultry Perez below.

About the Author

© 2016 The Classical Art, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

TagsRoberto Moronn Perez, Edizione Musicale Berben, Andres Segovia Archive, Raymond Petit, Henri Martelli, Pierre De Breville, Henri Collet, Raymond Moulaert, Raoul Laparra, Pierre-Octave Ferroud, Ida Presti, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Wigmore Hall Award, John Taylor, Keith O. Johnson

Real Time Analytics