UPDATE: yMusic Stream 'Balance Problems' a Day Before New Amsterdam Records Release

By Maria Jean Sullivan on Sep 29, 2014 05:51 PM EDT

yMusic have shared the full stream of their sophomore effort, Balance Problems, on New Amsterdam Records, featuring compositions by Classicalite faves Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly and Timo Andres, as well as works by NOW Ensemble guitarist Mark Dancigers, Chicago timbralist Marcos Balter, Andrew Norman and Jeremy Turner. Set to drop tomorrow, you can stream the full album here thanks to Pitchfork Advance.

Produced by Son Lux, the follow-up to 2011's Beautiful Mechanical promises to, yet again, straddle that finest of lines between classical chamber music and the classic pop hook. In fact, check out what string trio Time for Three had to say about Rob Moose, yMusic's de facto leader, on that subject over at our Clite A.V. Club.

Joined by Nadia Sirota, Alex Sopp, C.J. Camerieri, Clarice Jensen, Hideaki Aomori and Nadia Sirota, consider Moose and Co. at the vanguard of today's "indie classical" scene ... whatever that still means nowadays.

Below is the running order for Balance Problems:

1. Balance Problems [Nico Muhly]
2. Bladed Stance [Marcos Balter]
3. Music in Circles (Part 1) [Andrew Norman]
4. Music in Circles (Part 2) [Andrew Norman]
5. The Bear & The Squirrel [Jeremy Turner]
6. Safe Travels [Timo Andres]
7. Everness [Mark Dancigers]
8. Salvator Mundi [Sufjan Stevens]

About the Author

© 2016 The Classical Art, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

TagsyMusic, Balance Problems, New Amsterdam Records, Nico Muhly, Timo Andres, Andrew Norman, Sufjan Stevens

Real Time Analytics